Arasu Bus

Tamilnadu State Transport Undertakings

தமிழ் வடிவம்

Tamilnadu State Transport Corporation Salem Ltd

Tamilnadu State Transport Corporation (Salem) Limited, Salem was initially formed as Anna Transport Corporation on 15.02.1973 with the Head Quarters at Salem covering Salem and Dharmapuri Districts, as its operational jurisdiction.

It began to function with 63 Buses of which 45 Buses were received from the erstwhile Tamil Nadu State Transport Department and 18 Buses from the Ex-servicemen Co-Operative Motor Transport Society with 5 branches.

Anna Transport Corporation gradually expanded its fleet and reached 995 Buses on 31.03.87 with 22 branches. Based on the recommendation of the Committee headed by Thiru C.R. Pattabiraman, Anna Transport Corporation was bifurcated with effect from 01.04.87. The newly formed Corporation started its function with Head Quarters at Dharmapuri in the name of Annai Sathya Transport Corporation Limited having Dharmapuri district as geographical jurisdiction.

During 1997, the name of the Anna Transport Corporation Limited, Salem was changed as Tamilnadu State Transport Corporation (Salem Division-I) Limited Salem, and Annai Sathya Transport Corporation Limited, Dharmapuri as Tamil Nadu State Transport Corporation (Salem Division-II) Limited.Dharmapuri.

The Government have decided to amalgamate the Tamil Nadu State Transport Corporation (Salem. Division-II) Limited, Dharmapuri with Tamil Nadu State Transport Corporation (Salem Division-I) Limited, Salem. Accordingly the two Corporations were merged as per the order No: 1478 E, Dated: 30.12.2003 issued by the Department of Company Affairs, Ministry of Finance, Government of India and notified in the Government of India Gazette No: 1160, Dated : 30.12.2003.

After amalgamation, the Tamil Nadu State Transport Corporation (Salem Division I) Limited, Salem was renamed as “Tamil Nadu State Transport Corporation (Salem) Limited, Salem and its operational jurisdiction consists of Salem, Namakkal, Dharmapuri, Thiruppathur and Krishnagiri Districts. Now, the amalgamated company is functioning with fleet strength of 2049 buses and 32 branches along-with Body Building Unit, Tyre Plant & RC section.

Fleet strength

Type of Service No.of Buses
Town 837
Mofussil 1038
Ghat 25
Spare 149
Total 2049

Board of Directors

Thiru T.N.Venkatesh, IAS SPECIAL SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT, Transport Department
Thiru Prathil Tayal, IAS DEPUTY SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT, Finance Department
Tmt. Reeta Harish Thakkar, I.A.S., Special Secretary to Government, Finance Department
Thiru.V. Venkatarajan, M.Com., A.C.M.A.,PGDFM. Joint Managing Director,TDFC
Thiru. S.Joseph Diaz, B.E. Managing Director,Villupuram
Thiru.P.Thiruvambalam Pillai, B.E., M.Sc., D.P.M., Managing Director,Coimbatore
Thiru. A.Arumugham, B.E., M.B.A., Managing Director,Madurai
Thiru.S.S.Rajhmohan, B.E., Managing Director,Kumbakonam
Thiru. S.Suresh, B.E., Superintending Engineer, Highways Department
Thiru. R.Ponmudi, B.E., M.B.A., DIS., DLA., Managing Director, Salem
Thiru.S.Raghunathan, FCA., Chartered Accountant,Independent Director
Tmt.Priya Venugopal, FCA., DISA., Chartered Accountant, Woman Director cum Independent Director

Contact Details

Managing Director<br> #12, Ramakrishana Road,<br>Sreerangapalayam,<br> Salem -636007
Contact : 0427-2314391-93
Email : tnstcsalem[at]gmail[dot]com
Region Details
Region Address Contact No Email
Dharamapuri General Manager<br> 9/53,Salem Main Road,<br>Opp BSNL Office,<br> Bharathipuram <br>Dharamapuri - 636701 04342-230318-319-321 tnstcdpi9[at]gmail[dot]com

Operational Area