Arasu Bus

Tamilnadu State Transport Undertakings

தமிழ் வடிவம்

Tamilnadu State Transport Corporation Madurai Ltd

The Pandiyan Roadways Corporation Ltd, (Presently Tamil Nadu State Transport Corporation (Madurai) Ltd, Madurai Region, came in to existence from 17.01.1972 on account of nationalization of buses of the private operators as per the 1971 Act. The fleet of 346 buses along with the Depots and workmen were taken from M/s Southern Roadways Private Ltd, Madurai.

This corporation was formed under Companies Act to secure effective decentralization and better management. On 01.01.1974, 106 buses operated in Thirunelveli area was transferred and Kattabomman Transport Corporation (Presently TNSTC (Thirunelveli) Ltd, Thirunelveli Region) came in to existence with Nagercoil as its Head Quarters. Further 62 buses were transferred to M/s Cholan Roadways Corporation Ltd, (Presently TNSTC (Kumbakonam) Ltd, Kumbakonam Region) which came in to existence with Kumbakonam as its Head Quarters with effect from 01.07.74. After these transfers, the area of this corporation covered 3 Revenue districts of unbifurcated Madurai, Ramanathapuram and Pudukottai districts.

When the fleet strength of this Corporation was 1249, this was bifurcated on 01.04.1983 and 352 buses were handed over to M/s Maruthu Pandiyar Transport Corporation Ltd, (Presently TNSTC (Kumbakonam) Ltd, Karaikudi Region), which started its operation in the eastern portion of Madurai-Aruppukottai Road in the unbifurcated Ramanathapuram District and Pudukottai District.

Again when the fleet was 1097 buses, this corporation was bifurcated and 446 buses were handed over to M/s Rani Mangammal Transport Corporation Ltd (Presently TNSTC (Madurai) Ltd, Dindigul Region) on 01.04.1986 which started its operation with Dindigul as Head Quarters with the area of operation covering the part of Madurai District and west of the Dindigul-Periyakulam-Kumuli Road and entire Dindigul District.

The Government with a view to streamline the operations ordered for the transfer of Aruppukottai branch, which was taken over on 01.04.91 along with the buses from M/s Maruthu Pandiyar Transport Corporation Ltd, (Presently TNSTC (Kumbakonam) Ltd, Karaikudi Region) and with this transfer, the entire Virudhunagar District came in to the operational jurisdiction of this Corporation.

Again when the fleet was 1249, the Corporation was bifurcated as per G.O MS No.100 dated 29.04.1997 and the new Corporation commenced its operation in the name of M/s Veeran Sundaralingam Transport Corporation Ltd,(Presently TNSTC ( Madurai) Ltd, Virudhunagar Region), having its Head Quarters at Virudhunagar with 352 buses with effect from 01.05.97.

Subsequently the name of Pandiyan Roadways Corporation Ltd, was changed to Tamil Nadu State Transport Corporation (Madurai Dvi I) LTD.

From 06.01.04 as per the policy decision of Government of Tamil Nadu 5 Transport Corporations functioned with its headquarters at Madurai, Thirunelveli, Nagercoil, Dindigul and Virudhunagar, were amalgamated in to one corporation with present name Tamil Nadu State Transport Corporation (Madurai) Ltd, with its headquarters at Madurai.

Area of operation of this newly amalgamated corporation was the area of operation already held by the respective 5 corporations prior to amalgamation. This covers Madurai, Theni, Dindigul, Virudhunagar, Thirunelveli, Thuthukudi and Kanyakumari revenue districts. Apart from this, our corporation serves the areas up to Central Tamil Nadu covering Coimbatore, Salem, Erode Trichy, Tanjore etc, It also has interstate operation with adjacent Kerala State.

Total fleet strength of the amalgamated corporation as on 06.01.2004 was 3511 Nos with the fleet taken over from the following corporations Viz. Madurai-924, Tirunelveli- 838, Nagarcoil-678,Dindigul-712 and Virudhunagar-359

As per G.O.Ms.No.274, Transport (T) Department , dated 11.10.2010 , TNSTC(MADURAI) LTD., had been bifurcated and a new Corporation namely TNSTC(TIRUNELVELI) LTD., Tirunelveli had been incorporated w.e.f. 01.1.2010 by transferring the Tirunelveli and Nagercoil Regions along with Kovilpatty and Shenkottai branches of Virudhunagar Region from TNSTC(MADURAI)LTD. The Government order specifies that the Assets and Liabilities including Capital , TDFC loan, Govt. and other loans , Gratuity , Leave liability , Motor Accident compensation and other liabilities have been shared between the Corporations on Demerger Accounting policy. A Committee has been constitutred by Govt. to determine the value of assets and liabilities to be transferred between the two Corporations. For the Accounting purpose , the assets and liabilities as on 31.10.2010 are shared between the corporations on the following basis as recommended by the committee.

a) Fixed and current Assets at the book value as on 31.10.2010 in as if as where condition.
b) Accumulated loss and liabilities specific and attributable to the units / Regions attached to the respective corporation.
c) Capital on the basis of purpose for which the additional capital was contributed by the Govt. along with the capital brought in by the respective corporation at the Amalgamation as on 06.01.2004.
d) Common liabilities like Bank CC Limit , Bank term loan , Sundry creditors etc., which cannot be apportioned in view of it’s nature is taken over by TNSTC(Madurai) limited.
e) Shortfall on transfer of Assets and liabilities is made good by reallocating the TDFC ST Loan, Govt. ST Loan and Ways and Means Advance.

The Chief executive of this corporation is the Chairman of the Board of Directors, who is the Transport Secretary to Govt. of Tamil Nadu and whose valuable guidance policy decisions are being taken. Managing Director is the apex functional head of this corporation. Now this corporation has 3 regions Viz. Madurai,Dindigul and Virudhunagar with respective operational area already held, prior to demerger with separate General Manager for each region to execute the policies and guidelines from Corporate Office.

Fleet strength

Type of Service No.of Buses
Town 1270
Mofussil 832
Ghat 64
Spare 133
Total 2299

Board of Directors

Thiru K. Phanindra Reddy, IAS Additional Chief Secretary to Government, Transport Department
Chairman of STUs
Thiru T.N.Venkatesh, I.A.S., Special Secretary to Government, Transport Department
Thiru Simranjeet Singh Kohlon, I.A.S., Commissioner, Madurai Corporation, Madurai.
Thiru T.V.Premgopal Deputy Director, Finance (BPE) Department
Thiru V. Venkatarajan, M. Com., A.C.MA., PGDFM., Joint Managing Director - TDFC
Thiru S.S. Rajmohan, B.E., Managing Director - TNSTC (Kumbakonam)
Thiru P. Thiruvambalam Pillai, B.E., Managing Director - TNSTC (Coimbatore)
Thiru R. Mohan, B.E., Managing Director - TNSTC (Tiruneveli)
Thiru R.Premkumar Independent Director
Tmt T.Saraswathi Woman cum Independent Director
Thiru A. Arumugham, B.E., Managing Director - TNSTC (Madurai)

Contact Details

Managing Director
91, Bye pass Road,
TNSTC Head Office,
Madurai - 625010
Contact : 0452-2381200
Email :
Region Details
Region Address Contact No Email
Madurai General Manager
91, Bye pass Road,
TNSTC Head Office,
Madurai - 625010.
Dindigul General Manager
TNSTC Dindigul Regional Office,
Collectorate Post,
Dindigul - 624004.
Virudhunagar General Manager
TNSTC Virudhunagar Regional Office

Operational Area